Brewers Guild Awards 2017

The NZ Beer Awards is a competition organised annually by the Brewers' Guild to celebrate excellence in the brewing industry, which includes beer, innovation/achievement and beer writing.
The Awards are held in esteem worldwide due to the reputation of all involved in organising, staging and judging the event, with a world class selection of judges from New Zealand, Australia, America and beyond.  This diversity of background and quality of judge ensures that the Awards have a huge reputation across the globe as one of the most presitgious accolades a brewer can win.
This year the results of 2018 Brewers Guild of NZ Awards will be announced at the gala dinner being held in Nelson, New Zealand on Saturday 15 September 2018.
Note: 2018 Award Entry dates and information will be posted soon.
2017 Beer Award Results and Sponsors

For a full list of the Award Results please see the 2017 Catalogue of Results 


Award Winner Sponsor
Champion New Zealand Brewery:

Garage Project Brewery

Champion Manufacturer: Steam Brewing Company

Champion International Brewery:

Boston Beer Company

International Lager: McLeod’s Brewery

New Zealand Lager: Eagle Brewing
Dry Hopped Pilsner
British Ale:

Speight’s 5 Malt Old Dark

European Ale:

Tuatara Brewing Co
Tripel Barrel

US Ale:

Brave Brewing Co

Pale Ale: Tuatara Brewing Co
Aotearoa Pale Ale

Strong Pale Ale:

Bootleg Brewery
ApeHanger IPA

Stout & Porter: Sawmill Brewery
Baltic Porter


Wheat & Other Grain:
Sawmill Brewery
Sawmill\Good George Weizenbock

Garage Project Brewery
Cabbages & Kings

Specialty, Experimental,
Aged, Barrel & Wood-Aged:

Liberty Brewing Co

Cider or Perry:

Isaac’s Cider Original

Fruit or Flavoured
Cider or Perry:

Zeffer Cider Co
Apple Crumble Cider


Emerson’s Brewery
Emerson's Range

Morton Coutts Trophy:

Hamish Jones
The Nuts Brewing Co

Beer Writer of the Year Award:

Alice Galletly



Honours Awards

Honorary Member Ralph Bungard  

Honorary Member

Craig Bowen  
Industry Achievement Gabi Michael  

Industry Achievement

Doug Michael  
President's Award Jenny Cameron  


Thank you to our Major Sponsors:



Key Dates
Monday 21 August 2017: Entries Opened - We recommend you read the 2017 Entry & Style Guide before entering (see below)
Friday 8 September 2017:  Entries Have Closed
Wednesday 13 September 2017:  Physical Entries must be received in Christchurch
Friday 29 September to Sunday 1 October 2017:  NZ Beer Awards Judging

2017 Entry & Style Guide

  • Before you enter, we recommend that you read the 2017 Entry & Style Guide.  The Guide contains all the information you need to know regarding date deadlines, entry fees, delivery details, competition rules and beer styles/descriptions etc.  
  • Please ensure that you read this document carefully as there have been some changes this year.
  • Where requested in the Guide, brewers  must include appropriate notes with their entry, stating only the specific information required. Other non-relevant information, brand names, marketing blurb or geographic references will be edited / removed.
  • There are no limits to the number of entries but all entries must comply with the Competition Rules. 

For a copy of the 2017 Entry & Style Guide Click Here

Entry Fees 2017

Entry will be available online with credit card payment or by email with direct credit.
Brewers Guild Member Rate*: $135 per entry (paid-up Brewery Members)
Non Member Rate**: $185 per entry
Fees are GST inclusive
*Only NZ breweries are eligible for Brewery Membership of the Brewers Guild.
** Eligible Non Members who join the Guild prior to the entry closing date will receive a refund of $50 per entry.

Morton Coutts Trophy
This Award recognises innovation and/or outstanding achievement in the brewing industry.  Please see the Morton Coutts Entry Guide for full information.  Entries close on 8 September 2017.
Beer Writer of the Year Award
This award recognises excellence in the art of beer writing.  Please see the Beer Writer of the Year Award Guide for full information and entry criteria.   Entries close on 8 September 2017.

Brewers Guild NZ Beer Awards - 2017 Events


  • Cassels & Sons Brewery
  • Aotearoa Brewery
  • Brew Moon Brewing Company
  • DB Breweries
  • Emerson's Brewery
  • 8 Wired Brewing
  • mike's Brewery
  • Golden Bear Brewing
  • McCashins Brewery
  • Mussel Inn
  • Renaissance Brewery
  • Three Boys Brewery
  • Tuatara Brewing
  • Wanaka Beerworks
  • Wigram Brewing Company
  • Yeastie Boys
  • Sprig & Fern
  • The Twisted Hop
  • Eagle Brewing NZ
  • Valkyrie Brewing Co
  • ParrotDog
  • Liberty Brewing
  • Sawmill Brewing Company
  • Waiheke Brewery
  • Steam Brewing
  • Raindogs Brewing Co
  • Bulmer Harvest
  • Park Life Brewing Co
  • Hawkes Bay Brewing Co.
  • Boundry Road
  • Zeelandt Brewery
  • Townshend Brewery
  • Funk Estate - Auckland
  • Harringtons Breweries
  • Deep Creek Brewing Co
  • Garage Project
  • Fork Brewing
  • Good George Brewing
  • Hop Federation Brewery
  • Fitzpatrick's Brewing Co Ltd
  • Two Thumb Brewing Co Ltd
  • Behemoth Brewing Company
  • Croucher Brewing Co
  • Queenstown Brewers
  • Epic Beer
  • North End Brewing
  • Hallertau Brewery
  • Birkenhead Brewing Company
  • McLeod's Brewery
  • Te Aro Brewing
  • Eddyline Brewery & Pizzeria
  • Black Sands Brewing
  • Napier Brewing Company
  • Burkes Brewing Co
  • GodsOwn Brewery
  • Double Vision Brewing Company
  • Hot Water Brewing Co
  • Ferris Road Brewery
  • Fortune Favours
  • Brew Union Brewing Company
  • Heyday Beer Co
  • Emporium Brewing
  • Bellend Brewery
  • Boogie Van Brewing
  • The Laboratory
  • PhatHouse Brewing
  • Colab Brewing
  • Outlier Cartel
  • Urbanaut Brewing Co
  • Whistling Sisters Beer Co
  • B.Effect Brewing Co
  • Tinker Tailor Brewing Ltd
  • Abandoned Husbands Brewing Ltd


Members Area | Brewers Guild © Copyright 2017  |  Site by Deflux