Morton Coutts Trophy 2016

Brewers Guild NZ Awards Morton Coutts 2016

The Morton Coutts Trophy is a prestigious award designed to recognise outstanding innovation and/or achievement in the brewing industry of New Zealand.

Applications are now sought from individuals, groups or organisations who would like their innovation/achievements to be considered for the 2016 Morton Coutts Trophy. 

Alternatively, anyone can nominate an individual, group or organisation that they believe meet the outstanding achievement/ innovation criteria.

There is no time-limit which restricting when the achievements or innovation occurred – that is, they may be historical or recent.

Given the potential for widely diverse applications and nominations, there is no specific form to complete, allowing each individual case to be presented in the most appropriate way.

The information provided need not be complex and the interpretation of what constitutes an innovation or achievement is broad. However, the achievements or innovation should be made very clear and the stated achievements or innovation must be supported with strong evidence and/or be able to be easily checked by the judges.

For example, it will help if applications or nominations contain suitable documents or references, also listing any qualified independent referees that can be contacted to verify important facts or details.

There is no restriction on the number of applications or nominations that can be made in any one year.

Also, because of the potential for several deserving candidates applying or being nominated any given year, the Guild encourages those who may be unsuccessful to resubmit in future years.

The Guild encourages all nominators and nominees to attend the Brewers’ Guild of New Zealand Annual Beer Awards Dinner [Saturday 8 October, The Langham, Auckland] where the winner of this prestigious trophy will be announced.

Applications close on 9 September 2016 and can be made via email or in writing to the Brewers’ Guild of New Zealand as detailed below:


Postal:  Contact Cathrine van Venrooy on 0210 8169 422  or for the private postal address.


  • Cassels & Sons Brewery
  • Aotearoa Brewery
  • Brew Moon Brewing Company
  • DB Breweries
  • Emerson's Brewery
  • 8 Wired Brewing
  • mike's Brewery
  • Golden Bear Brewing
  • McCashins Brewery
  • Mussel Inn
  • Renaissance Brewery
  • Three Boys Brewery
  • Tuatara Brewing
  • Wanaka Beerworks
  • Wigram Brewing Company
  • Yeastie Boys
  • Sprig & Fern
  • The Twisted Hop
  • Eagle Brewing NZ
  • Valkyrie Brewing Co
  • ParrotDog
  • Liberty Brewing
  • Sawmill Brewing Company
  • Waiheke Brewery
  • Steam Brewing
  • Raindogs Brewing Co
  • Bulmer Harvest
  • Park Life Brewing Co
  • Hawkes Bay Brewing Co.
  • Boundry Road
  • Zeelandt Brewery
  • Townshend Brewery
  • Funk Estate - Auckland
  • Harringtons Breweries
  • Baylands Brewery
  • Deep Creek Brewing Co
  • Garage Project
  • Fork Brewing
  • Good George Brewing
  • Hop Federation Brewery
  • Fitzpatrick's Brewing Co Ltd
  • Two Thumb Brewing Co Ltd
  • Behemoth Brewing Company
  • Croucher Brewing Co
  • Queenstown Brewers
  • Epic Beer
  • Wild & Woolly Brewing
  • North End Brewing
  • Hallertau Brewery
  • Birkenhead Brewing Company
  • Choice Bros
  • McLeod's Brewery
  • Te Aro Brewing
  • The Herbalist by New Zealand Beer Ltd
  • Eddyline Brewery & Pizzeria
  • Black Sands Brewing
  • Napier Brewing Company
  • Burkes Brewing Co
  • GodsOwn Brewery
  • Double Vision Brewing Company
  • Hot Water Brewing Co
  • Ferris Road Brewery
  • Fortune Favours
  • Brew Union Brewing Company
  • Heyday Beer Co
  • Emporium Brewing
  • Bellend Brewery
  • Boogie Van Brewing
  • The Laboratory
  • PhatHouse Brewing
  • Colab Brewing
  • Outlier Cartel
  • Urbanaut Brewing Co
  • Whistling Sisters Beer Co
  • B.Effect Brewing Co
  • Tinker Tailor Brewing Ltd


Members Area | Brewers Guild © Copyright 2017  |  Site by Deflux